fbpx
Greater Louisville Inc. The Metro Chamber of Commerce 2019 Chamber of the Year
× Greater Louisville Inc. The Metro Chamber of Commerce
 

Racial Equity Pledge Toolkit

Welcome to GLI’s Racial Equity Toolkit! This was created to help businesses who have already signed Greater Louisville’s Racial Equity Pledge and plan to utilize the GLI and EquityVested Inclusion Index to help them live up to their commitment. For each principle accompanying the Pledge, there is a correlating section of the Toolkit that will provide you with resources and guidance to help you improve in any of those areas. Keep in mind these resources are not comprehensive, but rather a good starting point for you and your business. Stay tuned for more resources to assist you on our shared journey of advancing economic inclusion.

If your company has helpful resources for a section of the GLI Racial Equity Pledge Toolkit and are not listed, please contact Dana Johnson (djohnson@greaterlouisville.com) to be included.

in this toolkit

This toolkit is intended to help businesses of all sizes implement or improve upon diversity, equity, and inclusion practices they currently have in place. Topics covered in this toolkit include:

  • Instituting Formal DE&I Policies
  • Developing and Empowering Black Talent
  • Supporting Black-Owned Businesses Through Equitable Vendor Spend
  • Championing Transparency
  • Building Empathy Through Mentorship

instituting formal de&i policies

1) Do you have a formal Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Policy for your Company or Organization, have you re-visited that policy for effectiveness in the past 12 months, and is that policy posted on your website?

 

IF NO: Below are a few resources to help you start the process. In addition to these resources if you are considering outsourcing this element of the pledge, please consider using our discounted human resources program that can be found here. You can also view the GLI policy as an example.

Additional resources include:

IF YES: Great, your company is on the right path. Here are some great articles on how other companies are ensuring their policies are effective and up to date:

2) Has your company leadership undergone Unconscious Bias Training in the past 12 months?

 

IF NO: Please use the following resources in this section to get that training in motion:

Below are partners that can help with training:

Bellarmine University | Director of the Office of Identity and Inclusion

Joseph Frazier | jfrazier2@bellarmine.edu

JCTC | Assistant Director of Diversity and Inclusion

Ariel Snow | ariel.snow@kctcs.edu

Metro United Way | Director of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Trent Findley | trent.findley@metrounitedway.org

Racial Healing Project | Founder and CEO

Rashaad Abdur-Rahman | rashaad.rar@gmail.com

Simmons College of Kentucky | Vice President of Community Engagement

Von Purdy | vpurdy@simmonscollegeky.edu

Spalding University | Executive Director of the Center of Peace and Renewal

Chandra Irvin | cirvin@spalding.edu

The Muhammad Ali Center | Director of Programming

Erin Herbert | eherbert@alicenter.org

University of Louisville | Director of Diversity Education and Inclusive Excellence

Marian Vasser | marian.vasser@louisville.edu

IF YES: Great, your company is on the right path. Don’t stop there! Here are some other Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion topics you can include in future trainings:

developing & empowering black talent

Do you have formal hiring practices including diverse candidate consideration for your company, and does your company track their metric of diversity of staff and leadership?

 

IF NO: Below are a few resources to help you start the process. In addition to these resources if you are considering outsourcing this element of the pledge, please consider our discounted human resources program that can be found here and our discounted staffing program that can be found here.

How to get started:

Tools for recruiting diverse candidates:

Tools for interviewing:

Tools for finding diverse talent:

10 Ways to Attract and Hire Diverse Candidates

Bellarmine University | Associate Director, Career Development

Matt Real | mreal@bellarmine.edu

GapJumpers

Louisville Central Community Center | President & CEO

Kevin Fields | kfields@lcccnews.org

Louisville Urban League | Director, Center for Workforce

Betty Fox | bfox@lul.org

Simmons College | Director of Career Services

Debra Mayberry | dmayberry@simmonscollegeky.edu

Spalding University | Career Development Coordinator

Kimberly Palmore | kpalmore@spalding.edu

Sullivan University | Senior Director of Career Services

Sam Mannino | smannino@sullivan.edu

TKT & Associates | Chief Administrative Officer

Kimberly Bunton | kimberly.b@tktandassociates.com

Unbias

University of Louisville | Director, University Career Center

Bill Fletcher | bill.fletcher@louisville.edu

V-Soft Consulting | Senior Business Development Manager

Greg Kennedy | gkennedy@vsoftconsulting.com

IF YES: Great your company is on the right path in ensuring your hiring practices include diverse candidates. Take a look at companies excelling in diversity recruitment:

supporting black-owned businesses through equitable vendor spend

Do you track diverse vendor spend, including MWBE and Black-Owned vendor spend, and have you set goals around MWBE and Black-Owned vendor spend for your company this year?

 

IF NO: Please use the following resources in this section to address this need.

How to get started:

Resources for supplier diversity goals:

Management platforms that can help your business:

National organizations that can assist with the identification of small and minority suppliers:

Local organizations that can assist with the identification of small and minority suppliers:

IF YES: Great, you are focusing on the areas needed to ensure your company is tracking diverse spend. Here are some great articles on how other companies are championing transparency in their organizations:

championing transparency

Does your company report its staff diversity metrics including company leadership and Board of Directors (if applicable) diversity, and your MWBE and Black-Owned vendor spend?

 

IF NO: Please use the following resources in this section to address this need.

How to get started:

Resources on workplace diversity:

Resources on board diversity:

Resources on supplier diversity goals:

Resources on supplier diversity tracking:

Management platforms that could help your business:

National organizations that can assist with the identification of small and minority suppliers:

Local organizations that can assist with the identification of small and minority suppliers:

Get started with these applications to better know your workforce diversity:

IF YES: Great, you are focusing on all the right pieces to ensure your business is tracking internal diversity metrics. Here are some great articles on how other businesses are keeping transparency on their internal diversity:

building empathy through mentorship

Does your company have a mentorship option in place, including youth mentorship opportunities, internal mentorship opportunities, and reverse mentorship opportunities?

 

IF NO: Here are some resources to help explain how these programs are good for company culture. Please consider engaging with the GLI Power to Prosper Minority Business Accelerator Powered by Interise for a Business-to-Business Mentoring Opportunity.

How to get started:

Here is a list of organizations that are in the Greater Louisville Community that can help you establish youth mentorship efforts:

Here is a list of companies with exemplary internal mentorship programs for inspiration:

Don’t think you have the capacity at your company to mentor your workforce? Take a look at these resources to outsource your mentorships:

Below are resources to reference in creating reverse mentorship programs for employees:

IF YES: Great, your company is on the right track. See how other companies are leveraging their mentorship programs: