Greater Louisville Inc. The Metro Chamber of Commerce 2019 Chamber of the Year
× Greater Louisville Inc. The Metro Chamber of Commerce

Media Center

December 14, 2018 2:17pm

2019-2020 General Assembly Leadership Lineup includes Greater Louisville Lawmakers

Democrats and Republicans in the Kentucky General Assembly have selected a new slate of leaders and committee chairs for the upcoming 2019-2020 legislative sessions in Frankfort. These positions are important for setting not only the priorities of the individual parties but also the legislature itself.

The parties select their internal leaders in caucus meetings before session begins. Positions such as Speaker of the House, Speaker Pro-Tempore, Senate President, and Senate President Pro-Tempore must be formally voted on by the members of their respective chambers at the start of session. Similarly, committee chairs must also be formally approved during session. However, because Republicans hold supermajorities in both chambers, the selections for leadership positions that come from the caucus meetings are generally considered definitive.

Among legislative leadership in both the House and Senate are several lawmakers from the Greater Louisville region. The names of those legislators are italicized below along with other members of House and Senate leadership and committee chairs.

Congratulations to all leadership members and incoming committee chairs.

Senate Leadership

Senate President: Robert Stivers (R-Manchester)

President Pro-Tempore: David Givens (R-Greensburg)

Majority Floor Leader: Damon Thayer (R-Georgetown)

Majority Whip: Mike Wilson (R-Bowling Green)

Majority Caucus Chair: Julie Raque Adams (R-Louisville)

Minority Floor Leader: Morgan McGarvey (D-Louisville)

Minority Whip: Dennis Parrett (D-Elizabethtown)

Minority Caucus Chair: Johnny Ray Turner (D-Prestonsburg)

House Leadership

Speaker of the House: David Osborne (R-Prospect)

Speaker Pro-Tempore: David Meade (R-Stanford)

Majority Floor Leader: John “Bam” Carney (R-Campbellsville)

Majority Whip: Chad McCoy (R-Bardstown)

Majority Caucus Chair: Suzanne Miles (R-Owensboro)

Minority Floor Leader: Rocky Adkins (D-Sandy Hook)

Minority Whip: Joni Jenkins (D-Shively)

Minority Caucus Chair: Derrick Graham (D-Frankfort)

Senate Standing Committee Chairs

Agriculture: Paul Hornback (R-Shelbyville)

Appropriations & Revenue: Chris McDaniel (R-Taylor Mill)

Banking & Insurance: Jared Carpenter (R-Berea)

Economic Development, Tourism, and Labor: Danny Carroll (R-Paducah)

Education: Max Wise (R-Campbellsville)

Enrollment: Robby Mills (R-Henderson)

Health & Welfare: Ralph Alvarado (R-Winchester)

Judiciary: Whitney Westerfield (R-Crofton)

Licensing, Occupations, & Administrative Regulations: John Schickel (R-Union)

Natural Resources & Energy: Brandon Smith (R-Hazard)

State & Local Government: Wil Schroder (R-Wilder)

Transportation: Ernie Harris (R-Prospect)

Veterans, Military Affairs, & Public Protection: Albert Robinson (R-London)

House Standing Committee Chairs

Agriculture: Richard Heath (R-Mayfield)

Appropriations & Revenue: Steven Rudy (R-Paducah)

Banking & Insurance: Bart Rowland (R-Tompkinsville)

Economic Development & Workforce Investment: Russell Webber (R-Shepherdsville)

Education: Regina Huff (R-Williamsburg)

Elections, Constitutional Amendments & Intergovernmental Affairs: Kevin Bratcher (R-Louisville)

Health & Family Services: Kim Moser (R-Taylor Mill)

Judiciary: Jason Petrie (R-Elkton)

Licensing, Occupations & Administrative Regulations: Adam Koenig (R-Erlanger)

Local Government: Michael Lee Meredith (R-Brownsville)

Natural Resources & Energy: Jim Gooch (R-Providence)

Small Business & Information Technology: Diane St. Onge (R-Lakeside Park)

State Government: Jerry T. Miller (R-Louisville)

Tourism & Outdoor Recreation: Tommy Turner (R-Somerset)

Transportation: Ken Upchurch (R-Monticello)

Veterans, Military Affairs & Public Protection: Tim Moore (R-Elizabethtown)